PWM LED Driver

outro

Joined Mar 7, 2017
Hello,
hope this is the correct subforum to post.

I am looking for a little help (again) with driving RGB LED strip.
The idea is quite simple;1
I have 3 potentiometers (unless there's a simpler solution) for each colour

Problem:
Parts I can use: https://electronics.netlify.com/

I have tried some 555 dimmers, but I have failed (~20 times, maybe it's PEBCAK)

LED strip leds require (i think) 20mA or 40mA (whichever is more common, it's generic one)

I'm quite new to electronics

Thanks in advance!

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
How did you connected the led?
12V → R_led → G_led → B_led → R → GND

You said that you have tried some 555 dimmers, could you post the circuit?

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

5M 10M 15M SMD 3528 5050 5630 300LEDs RGB White LED Strip Light 12V Power Supply
This tels us nothing about the specs of the ledstrip.
There are 3 types of leds 3528 5050 5630 and 3 lenghts 5M 10M 15M given.
Give us the EXACT specs for the used ledstrip.

The current will be higher as the 20 mA mentioned as multiple leds are driven.
How many leds depends on the size and construction of the ledstrip.

Bertus

outro

Joined Mar 7, 2017
Hello,

This tels us nothing about the specs of the ledstrip.
There are 3 types of leds 3528 5050 5630 and 3 lenghts 5M 10M 15M given.
Give us the EXACT specs for the used ledstrip.

The current will be higher as the 20 mA mentioned as multiple leds are driven.
How many leds depends on the size and construction of the ledstrip.

Bertus
The leds are 3528, length is ~1.5m, and it has 4 pinouts: [ R+, G+, B+, Ground ]

I think it's 3 leds in series, and each is 20mA

It's something like: http://everycircuit.com/circuit/6694825468624896

The ideas was to use potentiometer to change the resistance for the 555 timer which would result in change of the frequency, but it didn't seem to work

EDIT:
The signal out goes to a mosfet and let's the 12V go to the LED.