Pull up or down ? I'm confused

André Ferrato

Joined Apr 5, 2015
Hi guys, just tell me if i'm wrong. I have the following circuit, the 10k resistor are used to pull down ou pull up the encoder ? The way i see it, is that when the switch is NOT pressed, current goes through the IC from the Vcc passing into the internal resistance and them into ground. When the switch IS pressed, the current will go through the internal resistance and them the 10k resistors ? Because the way i see it, is that for this to make sense we would need a Vcc connection near the switches. Am i wrong ? I'm new to this.

André Ferrato

Joined Apr 5, 2015
So i take off the 10k resistors and what is happening is that when the switch is NOT PRESSED, there is no path through that pin, so the pin is low ? When i press current goes through the pin and make it high ?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Download and read the data sheet.

Both the data inputs and address inputs are active-low with internal pull-ups. The switch should pull to ground when asserted.

With the switch open, the pin should be high. Switch closed pulls the pin to gnd.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Look at the pin description for this device on it's data sheet. It says:
"Input pins for address/data AD8~AD11 setting
These pins can be externally set to VSS or left open"

So you either set them low or they set themselves high if left to float.

You may be just fine by leaving the 10K resistor in, check if they truly go low when you press a button. If they don't go very close to ground (say .25V max) then replace the 10K resistors with a short.

"Simon sez" the current will be just fine.

(Simon is the data sheet.)

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Voltage is not current. The battery is always, "high" on its positive end, and it doesn't use any power to do that.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012