Proper Wiring and Selecting a Transformer for LED Backlit House Numbers

ljmccon

Joined Nov 27, 2015
Hello, circuit peeps. I need to install some new numbers on my house, and I came across these very cool LED backlit house numbers. (I'll be using the 5" numbers with white backlight.) I have limited experience with low voltage wiring, and for some reason, I'm having a heck of a time getting the seller or manufacturer to answer my installation questions. So far, here's what I've gotten out of them:

LED Numbers (link):
Contain 6-9 Cree LEDs
Voltage: 6-12V AC or 6-12V DC
Power: .045A @ 12V DC
Recommended LED Driver (link):
Input: 100-265V AC
Output: 12V DC, 1A, 50-60 Hz​

So here are my questions:
  1. Based on the driver they recommended, it looks like these numbers require a constant-voltage driver, correct?
  2. Would I be correct in assuming these numbers should be wired to the driver in parallel?
  3. Is there any way of determining whether or not these LEDs are dimmable with the information I have? (I'm aware I'd have to get a driver that allows dimming -- I'm just wondering if the LEDs themselves are capable of being dimmed.)
  4. I read an article that said you shouldn't have a load of less than 50% of the driver’s maximum wattage (source). The driver recommended by the manufacturer is 1A @ 12V, which makes it a 12W driver; I'll have 5 numbers (presuming in parallel), and at 12V, they're each using 0.54W, for a total load of 2.7W. So, wouldn't this 12W driver be too much? Or do I not need to worry about minimum load, here?
If you can educate me, I'd very much appreciate it!!!

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Use a SMPS so that output does not change with load. Probably can dim with PWM from a12 V supply.
Wire in parallel, 4, refers to a transformer power supply where output can change from 2 X rated V to rated V @ rated load..

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017