Power supply output voltage

Sundoo

Joined Jul 21, 2021
Hello. Complete electronics newbie here.
i bought a Led driver off Aliexpress.
input: AC100-240V
Output: DC30-57v / 600mA (constant)

i connected it to a led strip, they flashed several times then switched off (i suspect they died).
i then took the multimeter and measured the Output voltage, and it was around 74V.

i suspect this is what killed the leds.
My question is: am I missing something ? This power supply is supposed to output max 57V. Why does it show 74?
is the power supply faulty? Or did I measure it wrong?

Attachments

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Is the ledstrip for 600 mA constant current?
Constant current drivers can have a higher clamp voltage as the working voltage.
Most ledstrips are only fixed voltage.
The driver is likely for a COB led.

Bertus

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
It's a Constant Current output , so measure the current instead , the voltage will vary depending on how many leds are connected.

Your leds need to be able to withstand 600mA otherwise they will blow..

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
i suspect this is what killed the leds.
My question is: am I missing something ? This power supply is supposed to output max 57V. Why does it show 74?
is the power supply faulty? Or did I measure it wrong?
As its name implies, a constant current supply is designed to provide a constant current. If the LEDs you connected are rated for 600mA continuous current, the output voltage will be whatever the LEDs require to conduct 600mA; providing that voltage isn't higher than what the source is rated for.

You measured a higher maximum output voltage because your voltmeter wasn't drawing 600mA.

Sundoo

Joined Jul 21, 2021
ok, Let me try to explain what happened.
I had this ceiling lamp, composed of 2 LED strips ocnnected in paralel to a led driver (A):

Model: EIP030C0600LX
PRI: 100-240VAC
SEC: Constant Current: DC 600mA, 34-50V