power regulator choice

hamsli

Joined Feb 8, 2022
"Hello everyone, I'm new to the field of PCB design. I'm working on a circuit to recharge a Li-ion battery. I want to charge this battery with a voltage of 4.1V and 3A. I want to use the MP2393GTL-Z regulator for this. My input voltage source is a stabilized power supply that provides 24V. Below is a screenshot of the setup I've made, but I don't think it's correct. If you could help me correct it, I would appreciate it, and Thank you all for any help

Capture d’écran (138).png

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Read this about how to charge a Li-Ion battery.
Then you will see why your circuit is not sufficient, and likely dangerous, to charge your battery.

hamsli

Joined Feb 8, 2022
A voltage regulator alone isn't sufficient for charging Li-ion batteries safely.

https://batteryuniversity.com/article/bu-409-charging-lithium-ion

Once you study the problem more thoroughly, you'll come to the conclusion that buying a commercial solution will be less work and cost.
"I know that using only a regulator to charge a battery is not sufficient. I will use a microcontroller to regulate the charge. My problem lies in choosing the resistors and capacitors for the regulator. I have done my best to choose the values based on the datasheet, but I am absolutely sure that what I have done is not correct. I want to achieve a stable voltage of 4.1 V and a current of 3 A from a 24 V input voltage."

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
Are You sure that your Battery can withstand 3-Amps without fear of overheating ?

If You would like maximum Battery-Life-Expectancy,
You would be much better-off regulating the Voltage to somewhere between 3.8 and 4-Volts.

I would use your existing Switch-Mode-Regulator to drop the 24V Supply-Voltage down to ~5 or ~6-Volts,
then run that into a Linear-Regulator that has a Current-Limiting-Function,
like the MIC5158YN

Attachments

hamsli

Joined Feb 8, 2022
ok i will