Optimizing needed pins of a full H-Bridge using logic.

Graylord

Joined Jan 19, 2018
Hi! My first post here, and I'm a bit new to electronics, and have gone from using premade, modular circuits, to making my own power supply, voltage regulators, H-Bridges for DC motors, etc, designed for my specific uses, needs, currents and voltages. But I haven't touched much on logic circuits yet and could use some help. I have programming experience though, so once I get a bit more of an understanding of my options and their uses I hopefully should be able to wrap my head around it.

I've currently set up an H bridge, it uses 3 inputs at the moment, one for deciding high or low on the left side, one for high and low for the right side and one for PWM. It is based on the schematic from "Intermediate Robot building" by David Cook.

Here's is a schematic of the bridge for reference.

Im planning to use this for 4 motors, this totals up to 12 outputs on my MCU! My programmer brain is telling me there should be some way to avoid using a lot of them by using some Mosfets (for efficiency) as simple logic conditions. Or perhaps there are some logic chips that I'm not aware of that would be a better choice, or even a chip that entirely reaches my end goal.

For instance, for 1 output on my MCU, hook it up to both an n-channel and a p-channel MOSFET. Then hook the p-channel MOSFET to the input of the driver chip of the left motor that makes it go clockwise as well as the input of the chip of right motor for counter clockwise. This results in forwards motion. When sending a 0v signal, the n-channel mosfet turns on and does the exact same process inverted, making it go backwards.

I might also be doubling up on the amounts of components needed here, I suspect I could use a single component making use of both 0v and 5v output, a comparator perhaps?

So this should reduce backwards and forwards motion, controlling 2 motors, to a single pin, right?