Odd Question for an Odd Problem: Making an Old Scoreboard into a Clock

r8f1k

Joined Oct 1, 2023
So, I have some experience with electronics, particularly with pinball machine, jukeboxes, amplifiers, industrial controls and automotive components. I have an interest in lots of vintage items and I also like putting them to use. Since I do not have my own sports team, but I have always liked old score boards, so I wanted to use an old score board as a clock/calendar. I want to use the 'Time' digits on a basketball scoreboard to act as a clock. I then want to use the 'Home' and 'Visitor' scores for month and day. Any ideas of how to do this? Below is an example of what I would want to get a hold of.

1696211769981.png

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What you need to do will depend on what kind of electronics the board you get uses. Ideally, it would be split into drivers that drive the display elements and then logic that determines what will be displayed. If you can split these two apart so that you can use the original drivers, that will make life a lot easier. Then it's just a matter of the logic to determine what to display (an MCU is a good way to go for that) and probably some simply interface electronics to marry the output of the logic to the input of the drivers.

r8f1k

Joined Oct 1, 2023
What you need to do will depend on what kind of electronics the board you get uses. Ideally, it would be split into drivers that drive the display elements and then logic that determines what will be displayed. If you can split these two apart so that you can use the original drivers, that will make life a lot easier. Then it's just a matter of the logic to determine what to display (an MCU is a good way to go for that) and probably some simply interface electronics to marry the output of the logic to the input of the drivers.