Negative Voltage for LM338 Current Regulator circuit

maw455

Joined Jul 20, 2016
I'm new at this, so bear with me. I need to make a negative DC voltage circuit, and while negative/positive voltage seems straightforward at times, other times it doesn't, at least to me.

I'm building my first power supply and I'm incorporating the LM338 adjustable current regulator circuit attached below, which is from the LM338 data sheet http://www.ti.com.cn/cn/lit/ds/symlink/lm338.pdf

For the negative voltage portion of the circuit, I've drawn up the Negative Voltage Circuit attached below. Will this work? See any problems or concerns?

Thank you.

Mod edit: Same question posted in the Projects forum. Those posts have been moved here. One thread per question please.

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
No, I don't think that will work.
What is the purpose of the resistor?
If you have an isolated transformer source for the negative voltage, then just make another LM338 circuit but use the positive output as the sole common point.
The fact that you are using the positive output as the common point will not affect the output. I did a similar thing on the power supply I built myself and it works fine.

Otherwise use the LM337 for the negative voltage.

maw455

Joined Jul 20, 2016
No, I don't think that will work.
What is the purpose of the resistor?
If you have an isolated transformer source for the negative voltage, then just make another LM338 circuit but use the positive output as the sole common point.
The fact that you are using the positive output as the common point will not affect the output. I did a similar thing on the power supply I built myself and it works fine.

Otherwise use the LM337 for the negative voltage.