Need a relay 12v activated to connect 120v and stay on after 12v goes off

larryjbjr

Joined Jul 8, 2023
Ok, so I'm a newbie here just trying to solve a problem and looking for some help. Not an electrician, though I can do my own basic home/auto wiring no problem. I'm actually more of an IT person....

Anyways, I have a setup I'm trying to do for our small business fueling station. I want the drivers to be able swipe an RFID card to turn on the fuel pump for about 10 minutes while they fuel up, then turn off. Mostly to stop honest thieves, not necessarily Ft Knox tough.

I purchased an RFID keypad and 12v power supply like people use to unlock a door. But, the power supply only has a max time of 15 seconds. So I purchased a timed relay, but when I went to set it up it dawned on me that once the 12v power turns off then the timed relay turns off too. Duhhh... kind of a facepalm moment....

Anyways, the more I thought about it the more I realized that I have no idea how to send 12v to activate a timed relay but keep the relay active after the 12v goes away.

Is there such a relay that can do what I need without breaking the bank?

Here are the items I already purchased. Any way to make these work, or do I need to start over from scratch? I do have a small budget for this system of $500 or less.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BXL5QV1R?psc=1&ref_=cm_sw_r_cp_ud_ct_AV6VV1WR87K2W7WY8KNA

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00V55INJE?psc=1&ref_=cm_sw_r_cp_ud_ct_AV6VV1WR87K2W7WY8KNA

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CGB9XRD?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

geekoftheweek

Joined Oct 6, 2013
Would it work to wire your relay into the NC connection of your power supply and set the timer to less than one second? Every time your keypad is triggered it would cause the power supply to break the relay power and cause it to reset.