Need a circuit that can produce a one time 12V pulse when powered

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Michael Traynor, Oct 22, 2018.

1. Michael Traynor

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 22, 2018
    I have an electronic door lock that I would like to install in my home.
    Here's a link to the lock:

http://www.eboxlock.com/Products/1245.htm

When speaking to the manufacturer, they explained the lock needs a 12V one-time pulse to unlock it and then approx 6V to keep it unlocked (idle). I have tried several circuits but have not been able to produce these results. I plan on controlling the lock with a raspberry pi, but the initial power-on / one-time pulse needs to be able to happen without the pi's help.

I have read some things about 555 timers and "one-shot" circuits, but the examples I found are very hard to follow (it doesn't help that I'm very new to this kind of thing).

I'm looking for advice, or examples on how I can create something like this.

2. Externet

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 29, 2005
    How long that "one-time pulse" has to be ? Half a second ? And what current should be capable of delivering at 12V ?

+12VDC-------------./ .------------------||-----------------lock--------------------------gnd

The capacitor value can produce such short duration pulse. A ~10K in parallel to the capacitor is convenient.

3. Uilnaydar

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 30, 2008
    What about using a normally closed relay? On power up, the 12V will be applied to the lock, opening it. Then, use the Raspberry Pi to open the relay? The issue with this would be if the Pi dies, I get all your stuff as all the locks open. There are also timed relays that would alleviate me stealing all your stuffz. Relay opens after a period of time, thus force locking the contents.

With respect to using the 555 timer. You can cheat like I do and use calculators for it :)

http://www.ohmslawcalculator.com/555-monostable-calculator

4. Michael Traynor

Oct 22, 2018