NAND gate TTL - How it works

pj33000

Joined Feb 1, 2021
Hello,
I am studying digital electronics and I am a bit confused about the saturation conditions of the bjt.
I knew that the bjt saturates when the Vce is close to 0 and Vbe >= 0.7. However, when I was reading about TTL I got confused.
Can someone give me some intuition and explain me why in the case where both inputs are high, why Q2 and Q4 saturate and Q3 is OFF please.

I believe I understand something wrong because I cannot see how the saturation conditions are met.
If there is a more intuitive way to think about this please let me know.
Thank you

Attachments

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
Think about where the current through R1 goes when both inputs are high. (Tip. Think about the way you test a transistor using the diode test mode on a multi meter.)

Les.

pj33000

Joined Feb 1, 2021
Think about where the current through R1 goes when both inputs are high. (Tip. Think about the way you test a transistor using the diode test mode on a multi meter)
For Q3 I know it must be OFF but not sure why. But you give me a more intuitive explanation about the saturation mode please? Because I know they must be in saturation but not sure why.

Les.
I know that Q1 is in reverse mode, current flow from R1 to Q2 (don't know whether current is large or not)

pj33000

Joined Feb 1, 2021
For homework, you need to show your work before we can offer any hints. You'll learn more that way...
I don't know how to start calculating. Current flows from R1 to Q2 but I don't know how to calculate how much. Also I am not sure whywhy Q3 is OFF

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I know that Q1 is in reverse mode, current flow from R1 to Q2 (don't know whether current is large or not)
I don't know how to start calculating. Current flows from R1 to Q2 but I don't know how to calculate how much. Also I am not sure whywhy Q3 is OFF