My 24v old-school tester

english.g

Joined Apr 9, 2018
I am a truck Electrician and use this(homemade with old parts from workshop)

for testing wiring on 24v system, ie to see if wire is good , not open circuit , corroded etc .

back in the day we called it belling out (used old door bell )

it works well apart from size 10in x 3in and bulbs keep getting broken

it tests just the wire to see if capable to cope with 3 to 4 amps load

so would like to build electronic one if possible with leds green for good and red for bad
and if poss a buzzer for good as well, but must have the 3-4 amp load test .

i am not electronicly good at working out circuits but can build it

so any help if it can be made and poss diagram
thanks graham

wire tester.jpg

Mods Note:
Please don't use Big fonts on all post.

Last edited by a moderator:

cmrincon

Joined Oct 25, 2017
Hi, im a electronics engeneer student. if the transistor is shortcircuited like the image D1 lights, if there isn't shortcircuit D2 lights and D1 doesn't. You should use a bc546 transistor. Can this help?

imagen para leds.jpg

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
Three 21 watt bulbs is 63 watts. At 24 volts that's only 2.6 amps. But I'd suppose that if you have a wire that is capable of handling that current it can likely handle whatever current the wire diameter is designed to handle. In other words, if it's designed to handle 15 amps then if it handles 2.6 amps it's very likely it will handle the full 15 amps.