Modifying a Motion Sensor with Fixed Time

Mywk

Joined May 10, 2018
Hello everyone,

Just joined this forum after years of lurking for answers :oops: (Clearly ashamed of admitting this but would like to thank you all for the very entertaining discussions all around here).

I'm a hobbyist in electronics so I'll start by saying that I have limited knowledge in electronics! I checked this topic before asking my question but as I couldn't get a completely understand how to do this I will ask how should I modify my circuit in order to make my light not automatically shut down after some mere 5 seconds.

I couldn't find the part number of that 16-pin IC so I'm somewhat lost on how to debug this circuit in order to increase those more 5 seconds to something like 30!

Attached to this post is a picture of the circuits PCB, it takes 240V and outputs directly to a led panel, the PIR sensor is a S305A-P

Thanks in advance!!

20180510_134723.jpg
20180510_134727.jpg

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

I don't have a solution for you, so I will not be offended if you don't respond to my question....but here goes.

You seem like you are very reasonable. You took the time and effort to read an old post related to what you want to do and that is so much more than so many others do. You readily admit your limited electronic knowledge. Everything about your post is in a civil "tone".

You have appropriately stated that the unit is powered off of the mains. You do not have a schematic. You have not identified the board (you may not be able to) and you can't see an identification on the 16-pin chip.

My question is: Do you think it is risky (as in a safety risk) to attempt modification to the circuit? Any response, not just a Yes/No is welcome. Some ideas about general safety came up in another thread and I am hoping that your response will help me understand how different people perceive "risk".

Mywk

Joined May 10, 2018
Hi and welcome to the Forum.