Question about modifying the PCB in the USB plug of an LED fairy light string

LaimaB

Joined Mar 9, 2024
Hi - apologies for another question about fairy lights, but I'm wondering if someone can help me figure out what I can do to bypass this really horrible 8 options of blinking patterns (with no memory on what was set), so I can just have solid(ish) lights on.
These lights are reversing polarity to manage the blinking patterns, so I can't just replace the plug, but I'm wondering if there are bits that I might be able to solder to make the pattern appear solid (which is the eighth button press).
I've taken the plug apart and took pictures of the controller, but I'm new at this hobby and can't figure out what is driving the patterns and polarity switching. The first picture shows the ?FET? bent over the little controller, then I noticed it was covering something so I lifted it up and got a better picture of the controller underneath.2024-03-10 17.56.07.jpg2024-03-10 17.56.13.jpg2024-03-11 00.42.17.jpg
I've tried to search through the other posts asking similar questions about these controllers, but this PCB is different from the ones I saw in the older questions.
Would anyone have suggestions about what I could try to make these stop blinking?
Thank you!

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

Unfortunately, what you have to modify is not on the board and accessible to a soldering iron, it is in the rectangular 8 lead IC, specifically in the non-volatile memory of that little custom microcontroller.

You could build an alternative of your own relatively easily, at least couple of ways. Keep in mind, choosing either one, you would find a lot f help here to make it work. People tend to be very generous with time and expertise, and while this project may appear to be a steep climb, they are already at the top with long lines they can drop to pull you up—so don’t let the learning stop you.