MK105 change frequency

Hvacguy

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Greetings all.
I am a mechanical contractor that has some input on newer technologies, I am more of a mechanic than an engineer. I am looking to make a tone generator in the 1.5-6ghz spectrum. I have spent the last two days googling and looking around. The guys at frys(local electronics store) were no help. I’ve got a kit velleman mk105. I’m wondering if there is a 8 pin chip I can just replace on the build to get me into the range I want. They don’t just have those high range oscillators so it looks like I need a vcc. But those chips are all like another language to me. Any input would be great. Google isn’t as helpful as it used to be. Mostly ads.

The chip now is the 555 chip everyone uses

Last edited by a moderator:

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
A signal generator for between 1.5 GHz and 8 GHz will be nothing like the Mk105 audio signal generator. It is much too difficult a project for a beginner. Is this for some kind of wideband microwave jamming device ? If it is for a jamming device that is a topic that is not allowed on this forum.

Les.

Hvacguy

Joined Jan 27, 2019
A signal generator for between 1.5 GHz and 8 GHz will be nothing like the Mk105 audio signal generator. It is much too difficult a project for a beginner. Is this for some kind of wideband microwave jamming device ? If it is for a jamming device that is a topic that is not allowed on this forum.

Les.
Not trying to jam anything up. I want to put it through a loop. I just want tighter waves. There can be noise.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Greetings all.