Microphone Filtering and Blocking

cl10Greg

Joined Jan 28, 2010
Hello Everyone,

I have a quick question about my audio section I am working on with a microphone. I have attached a screenshot of my setup. I am debugging the circuit in a couple of different areas and keep running across the same issue and I am not sure why....granted I am new at this stuff. In the section below, I am able to feed in some constant audio tones and observe the microphone signal. I see the input signal that looks clean. The pre-amp does its job and amplifies the output and does the DC offset so its all above 0. Then it comes to the inverting unity gain section and nothing! Their is no signal on the output of the op amp. I had a similar issue from another part of the analog section and it seems to be the resistors. Now I can do some basic ohms laws to see what the voltage might be. With my tone I am generating, I am seeing a sine wave of about 1V amplitude at 1.65kHz. It has a DC offset of right around 2.5V. With that being known, I can deduce that the current into the amplifier to be (2.5V/10000 = 25uA). I am guessing what is happening is that the resistor values are too high and essentially giving the op-amp nothing to use. If that is true, can I get some guidance on what size resistors I should be using for this type of application?

In the other section of analog signals, its a similar approach to this and again if I short out that resistor, the signal is back. So obviously the values are too high or I am missing something in the world of op-amps.

Before I did build this, I did some model simulation and I know what it "should be" with the caveat of this being the real world and not having all the parameters.

1623850363216.png

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Non-inverting input of U21 should be biassed to half-supply, and the input may need to be capacitvely coupled.