Mains Smoothing

Big Dingus

Joined Oct 22, 2018
Hi folks.
Hope I'm posting in the correct forum.
As I'm no expert I decided to ask you guys a question before I complain about a product to Trading Standards.

I noticed a product that was claiming to cut your electrical bills.
They claim they can cut your bills by plugging their product in, and go onto descibe how they smooth the supply. (Please see the link)
Product
My limited knowledge of electrical tells me for smoothing to do as claimed, it would have to be BEFORE the meter and not after.
Anyone care to have a look.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
There is a theoretical basis for this but it does not affect your electric bill.

You may want to look up power factor correction capacitor, but keep in mind residential customer’s bills are not affected by power factor, and even if they were the power savings with the tiny capacitor that would be in the box would be insignificant.

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
They are advertising this ripoff all over the world so there must be many gullible fools buying it which pays for the ads and lots of profit for the sellers.

How can we stop these ads for this fake useless expensive product?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I noticed a product that was claiming to cut your electrical bills.
They are a bunch of rip-off artists.
They sucked me in with one of their ads that showed a beautifully made Orrery, when it came before i opened it I could see by the small box it could not be the same one.
Sure enough, it looked like it had been lashed together by a first year metal working class.
Smaller and not even CLOSE to the one advertised in their picture,
Chinese origin company.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
My limited knowledge of electrical tells me for smoothing to do as claimed, it would have to be BEFORE the meter and not after.
Anyone care to have a look.