Mains power alert

leghorn

Joined Sep 17, 2015
I am a novice. I need a device that will beep once when my 220V goes off, and maybe beep twice (or make a different sound) when the power goes on again. No reset buttons or switches needed. I just need to be alerted. Any help with a circuit diagram and part names will be much appreciated.

I am talking about 220V AC, 50Hz. Let's say if it is off for more than 2 seconds. I would like to be able to hear the beep from 10m away. I would like to build something. I will be careful, I will not cause injury or death.

AnalogKid recommended this forum. Unfortunately I can not figure out how to PM someone here.

Johannes.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
How much of a novice? Someone who has done a couple of projects with Arduino is a novice, but has the skills to do this project in a couple of hours.

Ignoring your experience level, I will tell you how I would do it.

8-pin PIC, one decoupling capacitor and a piezo buzzer. That is it, 3 electronic parts, plus a battery to power the beep when power goes off, and the 5V wall wart for detection of mains power. The rest is programming.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I would probably use an AVR because I am already set up to do that, but I think something involving an NE555 or two would be much easier - no language to learn, no development environment to install and learn, not need to find programming hardware. Soldering is much easier than programming if starting from scratch.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
I would probably use an AVR because I am already set up to do that, but I think something involving an NE555 or two would be much easier - no language to learn, no development environment to install and learn, not need to find programming hardware. Soldering is much easier than programming if starting from scratch.
Agreed, it depends on your starting point. If the TS says he has used Arduino, I would suggest an Arduino nano.

leghorn

Joined Sep 17, 2015