Lego NXT controlling 12v fans

wrcsubers

Joined Oct 16, 2015
Hello Everyone,

I appreciate any help in advance!

I'm have a basic understanding of DC Circuits, and this is my first time working with transistors. I'm using a Lego NXT to switch multiple fans On and Off. I have a 12v NiMH Battery Supply that is connected to a 12v 4.0amp fan and the NXT is switching the transistor with a 7.5v supply. Currently I'm using a single MJE3055T Transistor. My issue is this: When using ANY value base resistor the E3055T rapidly generates heat, if I'm not using a resistor it gets hot but MUCH slower than it does with a resistor.

How can I get this transistor in to saturation without overheating? Do I need to be using a Darlington?

I'm guessing that this is happening because the circuit is trying to pull all amperage from the base? When the voltage at the base is low the fan is drawing a lot more current?

Thanks!

GS3

Joined Sep 21, 2007
Do I need to be using a Darlington?
The MJE3055T specs say min gain at 4 A is 20 so you would need to supply 0.2 A to the base. If you can do that directly then you are fine. At 7.5 V you can try a 27 ohm resistor. If your 7.5 V source cannot supply this base current then you can use another transistor in Darlington configuration.

The transistor is going to dissapate a fair amount of power across the collector emitter connections as well. Assuming a Vce(sat) = 0.2 V, a collector current of 4 A will cause a power of 0.8 W. This is in addition the power from the base current, P = V x I = 0.7 V x 0.4 A = 0.28 W. Now the part is rated to 75 W, so it can handle the power with sufficient heat sinking. Without heatsinks, 1 W of power will still cause the part to get HOT.

wrcsubers

Joined Oct 16, 2015
Thanks everyone for the replies, that information is quite helpful.

Can anyone tell me why the Transistor would be getting so much hotter when using a larger value resistor on the Base? I don't quite understand what is happening in this scenario...