LED help please!!

TheScotty

Joined Feb 11, 2024
Hey there I have a question. I am a hobbyist who has recently found a deep fascination with circuits. Long story short, I want to have a photoresistor (when hit with light) turn on a green LED, hold it for maybe a second, and then cut off. When there is no light registering, I want to have a red LED light on. So red, and then green (when light hits) for ~1 second, then switch back to red. I was going to use a 555 timer to try to achieve this.
Then I had the thought, could I use the 555 timer to control an rgb LED, instead of having two different LEDs?
I would like run it off of 4.5 volts (3 AA battery pack), or a 9v battery. I don't have arduino either.
Can anyone help me out??

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Yes, this is doable. How easy depends a bit on the voltage your run it at (and how long you want your battery to last), as well as the specifics of your RGB LED. If you can find a dual-color (red/greed) LED in which the two LEDs are anti-parallel, it becomes a lot easier. If you have an multi-color LED in which all of the anodes (or all of the cathodes) are tied together, it becomes a bit tricker.

If you are using a 9V battery, have a dual-color LED and you don't care about battery life, because you just want to demo a circuit that works, then you can do it will the output directly, plus the LED and two resistors.

If you need to use a common-anode/cathode LED and/or want to maximize battery life, then you will want to get a bit more creative and using a some transistors is a pretty simple way to achieve this.

TheScotty

Joined Feb 11, 2024