Isolated Grounds from Common Supply?

johnyradio

Joined Oct 26, 2012
hi

Is there a simple way to isolate grounds from a single DC supply, in order to provide isolated grounds to different circuits? I've seen this asked elsewhere, but have not seen a good solution.

Note, I'm obviously not an EE, just a self-taught experimenter. i don't even know enough to be dangerous.

Separate supplies:

In this example, i'm charging 2 caps from separate supplies, yet i can still keep the cap connected in series. The charging remains isolated:

Common supply:

But in this scenario, with a common supply, the bottom cap does not charge-- it's return path takes a shortcut back to ground through the series wire connecting the 2 caps:

How can i isolate the return ground of the bottom cap, without losing the hardwired series connection between the caps?

Mosfet Driver (MAX628):

This could be my answer, if i can understand it. This circuit, outputs 2 separate, isolated Vsupplies from a single source! using a MAX628 dual mosfet drivers.

The outputs are not fixed V-- the V's vary with the input V, as i want.

"Simple Circuit Generates Multiple Isolated Supply Voltages"
https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1932
https://datasheets.maximintegrated.com/en/ds/MAX626-TSC428.pdf

i gotta figure out if this means i can chain more mosfet drivers to drive more outputs:

"Additional diode-capacitor networks can be added as shown to create a multitude of isolated voltages, limited mainly by the maximum total load current of all outputs and the maximum drive available from U1"

Also need to decipher this:

"This circuit is suitable for systems with fixed DC potentials, but is less suitable for those in which the potential between low- and high-voltage sections is varying."

What is "the potential between low- and high-voltage sections"?

Balancer: