Is this interface circuit reliable?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Xavier Pacheco Paulino, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Xavier Pacheco Paulino

Thread Starter Active Member

Oct 21, 2015
    Hello,

Pictures attached.

Is this circuit reliable to convert 5V into 24V? Let me know if you think I should consider other factors. I'm not very experienced when it comes to design.

Opto1.PNG
    Opto2.PNG

2. dendad

Feb 20, 2016
    What are you trying to do? What current are you switching, what is the load?
    if it is just switch a 24V load with a 5V signal, a logic level FET and a couple of resistors are all you need.
    Is electrical isolation needed?
    This may help...
    https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=61308.0

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
  4. Xavier Pacheco Paulino

Oct 21, 2015
  5. Xavier Pacheco Paulino

Oct 21, 2015
    I need 24V to drive stepper motors drivers. They need 24V signal, so I need to convert my FPGA TTL output to that voltage level

6. Xavier Pacheco Paulino

Oct 21, 2015
  7. Sensacell

Jun 19, 2012
    Put a resistor from base to emitter- to prevent the opto's leakage current from turning the transistor ON.

Calculate the value so that the drop over the resistor is less than ~ 400 mv with worst-case leakage.

8. Xavier Pacheco Paulino

Oct 21, 2015
    I have modified the design. Look at the picture attached in this post. Forget that LED for now. What do you think or suggest?

9. Sensacell

Jun 19, 2012
    I liked the first one better: it's cheaper.

10. dendad

Feb 20, 2016
    You could make R4 a higher value. As it is, the max gate V you can get is 12V, not counting any drop across the opto.
    The resistors make a voltage divider from 24V.
    But 12V is more than likely quite ok.
    The other thing I would change is the FET. The 2N7000 is really only ok for up to 400mA. I like BIG :)