Is my oscilloscope faulty?

Thread Starter

Exjay

Joined Nov 19, 2015
58
I bought a digital oscilloscope roughly a year ago, I tried to check signal but it flickers, I put 9v battery to the probe hoping to see a constant DC 9V at the screen but I didn't see it. The name of the oscilloscope is DSO Shell 150.
 

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
7,815
Is the ground lead grounded to the negative terminal?

Does the scope have a calibrate output?
 

Thread Starter

Exjay

Joined Nov 19, 2015
58
Is the ground lead grounded to the negative terminal?

Does the scope have a calibrate output?
It is grounded, I don't know if it has a calibrate output but I know it has a terminal that square wave and 1khz is written on it
 

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
3,442
Have you even tried to get the user manual..... and read it?

What probes are you using?
 

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
7,815
It is grounded, I don't know if it has a calibrate output but I know it has a terminal that square wave and 1khz is written on it

That is the calibrate port. What happens when you connect your probe to it?
 

Thread Starter

Exjay

Joined Nov 19, 2015
58
That is the calibrate port. What happens when you connect your probe to it?
Yeah thanks. I connected the probe to it I got got different frequency until I turned the knob I got 1khz. How would I know the magnitude if it is correct. Please enlighten me.
 

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
3,573
There is two types of triggering, if you are trying to look at
a DC signal scope needs to be on "Auto" triggering mode
that always gives you a trace independent of waveform.
As long as you use position controls to make sure its on
screen.

Regards, Dana.
 
Top