Is it possible to simulate a flyback transformer in LtSpice?

Zouglou LeMagicien

Joined Feb 12, 2019
Hello,

I'm wondering if is it possible to simulate my flyback transformer in LtSpice, I'm a beginner in LtSpice, so I don't know how to write a correct code ...
Here is the schema :
1584448304249.png
So, I need to simulate the transformer who has 3 primary and 1 secondary...

Regards,

Chris

Last edited:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

The numbers of turns does not tell you much about the transformer.
You will need the properties of the transformer core to calculate the inductance, before you can simulate the circuit.

Bertus

Zouglou LeMagicien

Joined Feb 12, 2019
All right, I calculate the different inductance, here it is :
First primary -> 2,96mH
Second primary -> 2,96mH
Third primary -> 0.119mH
Secondary -> 0.252mH

Don't know if it will help :/

eetech00

Joined Jun 8, 2013
it's on the first post...
The transformers in LTspice don't simulate a metal core or saturation effects. They can be modeled to behave that way but it gets fairly complicated.

There are models made by Wurth Elektronik that might fit you application.

Try looking here:

https://www.we-online.com/catalog/en/cm/pcd/mid_power_magnetics/mid_dc_dc_flyback_transformers/?sq=flyback+transformer&sp=https://www.we-online.com/web/en/electronic_components/searchpage_PBS.php?search=flyback+transformer

There might already be one available. If there is one close to the one you need, we might be able to modify it and use it for your simulation.

eT

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Note to add in any leakage inductance and parasitic capacitance between windings, as those can have a significant effect on the generated transient voltages.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019