Is it necessary to continue charging the phone batteries for first time for 4 hours?

dashhossein

Joined Jul 30, 2020
Hello to all
I am a beginner in electronics
I had a question, is it important to charge the battery for the first time to continue charging the battery for several hours after it is fully charged?
Because some sellers say this, but I don't know if this is scientifically correct or not

tnx for any help

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You should at least fully charge it before first use.
There is no need to continue to charge it after it has reached full charge. The battery charge management circuitry will stop charging in any case.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I had a question, is it important to charge the battery for the first time to continue charging the battery for several hours after it is fully charged?
I question the validity of that "requirement". When I received my last phone, I proceeded to transfer data and settings from my old phone before fully charging the battery.

Contrary to what you might have been told, charging to 100% isn't necessarily a good thing. Android phones now have a setting where you can limit the maximum charge to 85%. The theory is that a battery is good for about 500 charge/discharge cycles but, if you don't use it to the extremes (fully discharged/charged), it will last longer. This seems to be substantiated by Apple having a setting to charge between a minimum that's higher than 0% and lower than 100%. I think long before Android.