IP5306 Charging Circuit works for 33 seconds then strangely stops

bmbouter

Joined May 29, 2021
I'm new to circuit design. I'm using an Injoinic IP5306 battery charging IC (datasheet). I also use an AMS1117-3.3 (datasheet) to drop down the 5V power it produces to 3.3V. I've attached a picture of my schematic which shows the relevant portions, the IP5306 in single-LED configuration, the AMS1117-3.3 circuit, and the 4 WS2812B LEDs (datasheet) that I'm trying to drive. The batter terminals connect to a Li-ion 18650 battery.

## Problem Description

When running on battery power, this circuit works for about 33 seconds and then "fails and shuts off". When running on 5V USB power it runs forever, and also correctly charges the battery. I state it "works" because I can program the test pattern which drives the LEDs as expected. When it "fails and shuts off" it shows this soft blinking red pattern.

Here's a video showing the problem:

Voltage measurements of the AMS1117-3.3 pins show: The 5V input is fluctuating between 1.55 - 1.67 V which is creating the red blinking effect for the LEDs. The AMS1117 pin for 3.3V output is fluctuating between 0.72 and 0.82. I have a few independant hardware devices so I think it's safe to say this is a design issue. The power at the battery when it's supplying power is ~ 4.0 V.

## Questions

What is the flow the unexpected power is taking in my circuit?
Why does it was 33 seconds to power off?
What tools and techniques do I need to learn to analyze these types of failures?
Do you see a problem with my schematic?

Thank you!
Brian

Attachments

bmbouter

Joined May 29, 2021
Ah yes! Thanks for pointing that out. When I run a brighter pattern it stays on continuously!

I'd like to run workloads < 45mA, is there another IC or set of ICs that would be a better fit than the IP5306?