Investing in an oscilloscope

Mellisa_K

Joined Apr 2, 2017
My question is: as electronic engineers of considerable practical experience, what type of oscilloscope would you recommend i buy now, as my first oscilloscope, given my circumstances and interests and stage of development?

As a social researcher i know the power of graphical output to tell a story. I love graphs.

I am a hobbyist with a lot to learn about electronics. Ive been doing this hobby on and off for about 3 years. I only get a limited time to enjoy it. I am acquainted enough with it to know that i like it and I want to continue developing my skills. My only ambition in this area is to learn more about this fascinating quantum world of electronics - but not as a professional. I have little money to spend on this hobby. My next purchase is a benchtop oscilloscope - not a PC application. I know I can spend a lot of money on one but I hope I can buy one cheaper without preempting my later development needs while still meeting my current needs which are not very complicated.

So far I have bought two DMMs, a good regulated power supply (X2), a good soldering iron and lots of components. I have recently been experimenting with timer/ oscillator circuits with the help of AAC members. This area seems to be my main interest for the foreseeable future. These use ICs such as 555 4017 4060 ULN2003. I have build irrigation timers, LED dimmers, LED flashers, clocks, and other timing devices. I would love to see the output of these ICs in a more visible way than just reading the voltage drops and current at their output. I want to be able to use an oscilloscope as a graphical diagnostic tool to accelerate my learning and to make things easier for me and less reliant on AAC members to develop my own circuits by altering components to see the effect on the output of the circuits.

What more can I tell you about my circumstances/ needs so you can better advise me on this?

narkeleptk

Joined Mar 11, 2019