I'm Building an Optical Compressor pedal and need some help with the signal flow

dephlated

Joined Feb 14, 2024
I am currently studying music production at University and for my final project I'm building an opto compressor pedal for my bass, it is focused around a VCA and is inspired by the compressor designed and built by Moritz Klein. I'm unsure of what the signal flow out of the VCA would be, would it be to route the output signal directly into an LED, have that LED shine on an LDR, and then have that LDR linked to a threshold and voltage comparator then going back into the CV on my VCA or will I need a peak detector and so on? I have attached a diagram I drew of potential signal flow but I don't know if it is the correct signal flow or if the peak detector is even necessary.

Attachments

dephlated

Joined Feb 14, 2024
What is the purpose of an "Optical Compressor Pedal"?
It is a type of analog audio compressor. to quote izotpe "In an optical compressor, the resistors are light-dependent: the audio signal feeds a lighting element (such as an LED), which shines upon a light-sensitive resistor. The resistance of this light sensitive element informs the compression circuit how much and how quickly to attenuate the audio signal."

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
I think it is basically using the slow response of the LDR as a peak detector. The same can be done with a diode, capacitor and resistor.

An advantage of this approach is that the resistance is isolated from the rest of the circuit, so it can be used anywhere in the circuit.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
So are you saying that compression is the same thing as attenuation? If so, it seems like a lot of fiddle-farking around for a straightforward proposition. Attenuation can be done with ordinary resistors.

dephlated

Joined Feb 14, 2024