i can't earn rf bjt amplifier gain as same as gain in datasheet!!

Discussion in 'Wireless & RF Design' started by alitex, Mar 23, 2019.

1. alitex

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Mar 5, 2007
    hi all
    i made class a vhf amplifier using bfg97 but i can't earn gain as noticed in datasheet. i got only (17db) but in datasheet and s2p file i should get 29db @ 100MHz.
    i also make another one using 2sc5085 but also i got only 16db but in datasheet it should 26 db.
    i add impedance matching to make bfg97 stable @ 100MHz using ADS software to input and output and i got approximately good results(32db) using nonlinear model from NXP.
    any one know why?
    thank you so much.

2. alitex

Mar 5, 2007
    may i know if any one can help?

3. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    Well, I'm no RF expert but have you taken into account how much of your input signal is lost in the base coupling and bias components (it will not be zero), and likewise for the collector load and output matching components.

4. alitex

Mar 5, 2007
    thank you AlbertHall.
    in ADS i got about 30 db gain and after added input and output matching i got 36 db. in s2p file from NXP company written 30db @ 100MHz.
    i got only 18 db in practical circuit with matching. i don't know?
    can you tell me where is the problem?
    thank you in advance

5. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    I'm afraid you will have to wait until someone who knows what they are talking about comes along.

6. alitex

Mar 5, 2007
    is my expression not understandable?

7. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    The fault is in my understanding not your expression.
    I am nobody's idea of someone knowledgeable about RF.

8. alitex

Mar 5, 2007
    is it possible there is no one expert in RF of all (all about circuit) forum?

9. cariban

Aug 14, 2018