homework, to create a basic circuit on a breadboard

dazzer7

Joined May 7, 2016
I am new to Electronics and have only just starting to getting a grasp of ohms law, I have been given some basic homework to create a basic circuit on a breadboard and to complete reading with my multimeter , It is very basic and in series and only has three resistors - Volt 6v - 4.7k - 5.1k - 10k, . I have finished setting it up i have also started to learn LTspice sim to also plan it out . now my question is ohms law works great but in the real world not everything is accurate , like my power supply reads 6 volts but when i tested it with my multi meter it read 6.50 volts , also resistors don't always add up to what there rated when i test them with my meter as by there colour code , yes we are only taking about small differences but dose this matter? When i measured the current i got 305.6 uA or 00.30mA reading but the numbers would change from a few digits that the closest i could get , the RT adds up to 19.8 ohms, but when i calculate V x I = 20.00 ohms , Is this normal or am i doing something wrong . With the resistors i went with the rated from the colour code and not from the reading that i tested them, i think the 10k read 9.50 ohms the 5.1k read 5.7 k so you get the idea slightly out of what there ratings say .

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Nothing is ever exact. This applies to test equipment as well as components.
Resistors have an extra colour band that gives their tolerance - how far away from their marked value they are allowed to be.
If you are designing a circuit you will need to design it so it will work even when the values are not exact.
Incidentally, the resistance ranges of multimeters are often not very accurate. Can you check the specifications for your meter?

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019