Help with DC output cable wiring on 48V 50A Battery Charger

Chris__H

Joined Nov 7, 2016
Hi all I'm Chris, this is my first post and I am a pure novice venturing into the wonderful world of electronics. Today I purchased a used Ericsson 48V / 50A battery charger for $250. I want to use it sparingly to charge a forklift battery that will be connected to my grid solar system. I want the battery to supply inverted AC power when the sun decides not to shine (like during the evenings), or when there is no radiance for extended periods and performing equalising and top up charges to keep my battery maintained. (Pic 1. Pictures of the unit with front cover off)

IMG_4885.jpg

The unit has 3 manual switches for different voltages charges, Float 1 [52v], Float 2 [54v] and Boost [64v] I assume for equalising. I need a little help as I'm not sure how to configure the DC charging leads because there is 4 terminals (see close up in Pic 2)

IMG_4902.jpg
Can anyone suggest how I should proceed Please? Will I need to piggy back the DC ("-") Boost & Float terminals? and what do you think the E terminal is for? Sorry about all the dumb questions but I guess I have start somewhere? I also noticed when I plugged the charger into the AC 240v power supply for the first time that it tripped my AC circuit when I switched the unit on? I checked the fuses and found the AC 20amp fuse had no continuity so I will try to find a new one and replace it tomorrow. Hopefully there is not greater gremlins at work here? I'll keep you posted. Thanks again Chris

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
Looking at the output terminals, i would say +Dc is battery positive common, -Dc float is battery negative, and the boost is for a higher voltage output.
E is earth.

best solution is to measure the voltage using a Dvm across the Dc+ and Dc- float/boost and turn the rotary switch to see what voltages are present.

Chris__H

Joined Nov 7, 2016