HELP - Self-Watering Plant Pot (first PCB Newbie)

Rodolfo Luga II

Joined Feb 4, 2018
Hi , I'm a computer engineering student and we have this project in which you can hopefully help. I made a proposal of having a time-based self-watering pot for our innovation project in my CoE subject. I proposed this in thoughts of having a fully automated watering system for a plant pot so that you can leave it without doing anything and waters itself.

Now I researched about it and all that pops out are projects with arduino implemented on them. I would like my circuit to be simple and not so overly-complicated with just a bunch of IC to work with. So if anyone can help me out it would be very much appreciated, give some advice in what IC and circuit I could use and the circuitry design. Unfortunately our professor didn't really told us the basics of how an IC should work, and I don't even know what an IC is. I think our professor just wanted us to search up in google and just do whatever DIY videos that pops up with our proposed project. I want to understand more about Electronics that's why I want to make my project with an actual understanding in what it really does. I hope someone hears me out and help me with this because I'm a total newb in making these. Thank you.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
You're going to need a moisture sensor with hysteresis using an IC like a Lm324 or other op amp,( Ac sensing will reduce erosion of probes), a pump, relay output , psu, and a tank of water ideally with a ball cock topup supply.

Here is an example, this uses DC probes, which will eventually erode away.

garden-watering-circuit.png

Last edited:

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
A solenoid to control a flapper valve in supply tank, 555 IC to control solenoid timing, 555 to supply long time hysteresis, & comparator to monitor moisture via stainless steel probes.

Rodolfo Luga II

Joined Feb 4, 2018