Rotating LED circle, self contained project help.

dynamis_dk

Joined May 8, 2012
Hi guys - Since Its my first post here I'll do a very quick intro. I'm a computer IT tech with an interest in computer projects and case modification. My travels in my latest venture is a HTPC case which I have a very specific need for a LED project so I'm afraid after a quick google around I took to pick on this forum looking for answers and advice.

I've after creating a module which will (hopefully) connect to a standard 3.3v LED header on a PC motherboard to provide a rotation effect LED pattern. I'm not 100% set on the 3.3v but it would make life a little easier for me. Failing that, If I could connect up the existing 3.3v to the circuit to act as a 'on' button and connect something else (maybe 12v since its going to be PC PSU based) to power the actual LEDs etc.

Based on the image above, I want the LED's to move one at a time for around 0.5 delay between moves clockwise around one at a time starting at No. 1 moving from No. 8 back to No. 1 (1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-1-2-3 etc). I'm not sure if there is something I can get which will allow this type of pattern to be created (once finished) to allow no other interaction required other than providing the '3.3v' acting as a 'on' button.

I want to make it a single sided PCB with surface mounted components as much as my ability will allow. I'm fine soldering 0805 by hand but wouldn't want to go much smaller and i have no experience in double sided PCBs so would prefer to stick to single side. I'm also ok with the etching process (photo board, dev, etch) etc.

I'm afraid I have little to no actual electronics skills. If it turns out this is likely to be very hard for my skill level I might turn to something like an Ardrino but i would like to give this a go maybe learning on the way.