Guidance regarding e-paper display connected to a mechanical watch project

villanibr

Joined Apr 26, 2023
Hi everyone.

My name is Leandro and I’m a software developer from Brazil. I want to build a personal electronics project but not sure how to start. I have some knowledge about electronics but not at the level required for this project, so I’m asking for your help here. I would gladly appreciate any help and insights, even if it is just for part of the problem.

The project: the end goal is to attach an hours and minutes display (hh24:mm) to a mechanical watch that I already have. However, one requirement is that everything should be powered by mechanical energy, extracted from the mechanical watch barrel (or an additional barrel). So, a rechargeable battery and/or capacitors can be present, but only to store the temporary energy to refresh the display and power a small circuit.

Another complication is that the mechanical watch must “instruct” the digital part regarding how much time has passed (and not the other way around). So, I thought about having a mechanical component that can rotate, connected to the appropriate mechanical watch gear. Every complete turn of this component would “instruct” the circuit that one minute has passed and then update the display accordingly, using the previously stored energy (somehow). Some state should be stored in the circuit to know how to add and display this new minute that passed, so I believe a few bytes of store will do.

For the display, since the energy requirements must be low, I thought about using a small e-paper display (the smallest that I will be able to buy online), since it will only use energy during screen refresh (one refresh each minute during normal use). I know the lifetime of e-papers are not ideal for constant refreshes, but the display “burn out” or degradation after some millions of cycles is something acceptable.