Good multimeter: which one?

FiNaR

Joined Aug 4, 2018
Hi all,

I'm an absolute beginner and I'm starting to play around with Arduino and home automation....

As newbie, I wowou like to get a good multimeter that is not going to be useless in 1 year (when hopefully my knowledge and implementation will be more advanced), but at the same time I don't want to spend a fortune....

Any good suggestion?

Many thanks

Ivan

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
I have a meter very similar to this one. I think mine is a slightly different model. I've had mine for almost a year and most of the time it's good enough. Sure, there have been times I wish I had a scope. But it is still incredibly useful, and a great deal.

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
Now, there are some things your multimeter can't measure. You may encounter these things later on. For example, it has a very hard time accurately measuring resistances within a few ohms, and certainly can't measure the resistance of the wires directly . But you can usually get around these limitations. For measuring small resistances, just send a few amps through the wire and measure the exact amps and volts dropped on the wire, With ohm's law, you can easily find the resistance, and determine many useful things about the wire. You also cannot directly measure inductance, which is very important to know in many applications. While you could buy an expensive LCR meter that can measure it, you can measure it by constructing a resonance circuit and doing a frequency sweep. Or, you can measure impedance by measuring current at different frequencies, and figure it out that way. You get my point.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
If you live in the US, Harbor Freight often gives away a multimeter with any purchase. It's probably worth $5-6 if you buy it outright. They're good enough for getting started and free is a decent price.

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017