Force sound trigger to only fire photo flash gun once

gene-stevo

Joined Feb 22, 2019
HI Folks,

I’m an amateur photographer in need of an add-on to my home-made flash gun sound trigger.

The current unit works perfectly for photographing things like balloon bursts etc. The balloon makes a bang, dynamic mic creates signal which feeds a preamp. The preamp output connects to an SCR which effectively creates a closed circuit across the low voltage feed from the flash and the flash fires. Great!

My problem is that when shooting an event involving things like air-rifles, light bulbs, glasses etc things get a bit noisy which means there are multiple signals created by the mic etc which causes the flash to fire more than once, ruining the exposure.

As I’m an electrician by trade it would be simple to use relays and a latching circuit, but relays are way too slow, I need a solid-state solution. Unfortunately, as an electrician my legs go wobbly at the very mention of semiconductors. I’ve basically copied the info from YouTube

Is there a simple set of extra components that I can add to force the unit to switch off the signals after the original sound event?
Images below represent what I've got working so far.
Thanks for reading.
Eugene.

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
One solution is what's called a one shot timer (a.k.a. monostable multivibrator). Here's a thread about it:

https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/next-submission-555-monostable.14018/

An excerpt:

"This particular monostable multivibrator (also known as a monostable or timer) is not a retriggerable type. This means once triggered it will ignorefurther inputs during a timing cycle, with one exception, which will be discussed in the next paragraph. "

gene-stevo

Joined Feb 22, 2019
The circuit in the blue enclosure, is that the actual product you are using? I have seen flash circuits using the 555 chip that look similar to the photo.
SG