EVAP Pressure Sensor Simulation

GeeEss

Joined Jul 26, 2018
Hello,

This is my first post on this Forum. I am an ex Mechanical Design Engineer (Engineering Recruiter last 15 years). I reside in Sydney Australia.

My knowledge of Automotive electronics is in all honesty, quite rudimentary so please bear with me. . .

I recently completed an Auto > Manual conversion on a 2002 Lexus IS300 Sportcross. The IS300 platform was only ever offered from Factory with a manual transmission in the USA. As part of the conversion I replaced the original (Automatic) ECM with a unit from a USDM (California) vehicle.

The ECU is throwing DTCs (0450 & 0451) because it is looking for inputs from an Evap (Fuel Tank) Pressure Sensor that non-USA cars don't have.

I have been advised that re-configuring the ECM is not feasible so my only other option is to give the ECM the inputs it is looking for via an emulation / simulation circuit. From my research to date I have read that the sensors 0-5V output signal is best approximated by a potentiometer.

The ECM supplies the sensor with a regulated 5V reference voltage and the sensor returns a signal voltage between 0.5V and 4.5V according to the pressure / fuel level in the fuel tank. When the pressure in the fuel tank is low, the output voltage of the vapour pressure sensor is low; when it is high the output voltage is high.

Referencing the Lexus IS300 Diagnostic & Wiring Manual (Page DI-251) and the link below;

http://www.tsienna.net/evaporative_emission_control_system_pressure-2236.html

1. For DTC P0450 the ECM checks for abnormal voltage fluctuation from the sensor circuit; which it's getting due to a non-existing sensor / open circuit.

2. For DTC P0451 the ECM checks for both a "noisy" sensor and a "stuck" sensor