EMI issue with LED DRIVER

kcbhojwani

Joined Jun 11, 2016
Hi All,

I am having an issue which i have been struggling with for about a year. I am not very technical when it comes to EMI and LED and i have been searching everywhere and have even had long long phone conversations with tech support of different companies. Recently we pinpointed the problem and searches have led me to this forum, where i hope i can get some assistance.

The problem i am having is with the following products:
-LED panel 48w
-LED Driver model JY-48W (Input 85-265AC 50/60, output 48W, DC38v -1.1a)
-Checkpoint EAS system operating at 8.2Mhz.

I have a retail outlet with over 100 LED panels, each using the above mentioned driver. We also have an anti-theft alarm system installed at the entrance. this alarm system does not function well, and not matter what setting we put it at, it will not detect an alamr tag that is more than 25cm away, while the range is supposed to be 1.5 meters (approx)

After a lot of testing we finally figured out that even if an LED light at the other corner of the building is turned on, there is an interference with the alarm system. I read online that this may be caused by the switching of current from AC to DC, so we removed the LED DRIVERS that were close to the alarm system, but this did not fix the problem as the alarm antennas were still detecting interference. they told me that because this is a metal structure, the beams are 'carrying' this interference all throughout the building. Mind you that the antenna works perfectly outside the building or with all the lights turned off.

Since a large investment has been made in both the alarm system and the LED panels, i was hoping there may be a solution to this problem, without having to replace either product.