Doing a master's in Electronics with a degree in Physics

PauloConstantino

Joined Jun 23, 2016
Dear friends!

I'd like your advice on this please if you have a good one!

I have a degree in mathematics and I have been interested in electronics for a long time. I have applied for a master's in Digital Electronics at my university and they have accepted me to do the course. However, I am a bit concerned that the course might be a bit difficult since I don't have a first degree in Electronics. I do have an extensive background in computer science and architecture, low level programming and so on. And I have been studying electronics for a good while, but still, my knowledge is not as extensive as someone who has a degree in Electronics.

What do you think? Will I struggle? Will I survive?

Best and thank you!

Last edited:

DGElder

Joined Apr 3, 2016
I think you will do quite well. I am curious, outside of not having to take a number of foundation courses required for a BS, such as the typical math curriculum, how do you see your Masters work differing from the study for a BS in Digital Electronics?

PauloConstantino

Joined Jun 23, 2016
I think you will do quite well. I am curious, outside of not having to take a number of foundation courses required for a BS, such as the typical math curriculum, how do you see your Masters work differing from the study for a BS in Digital Electronics?
I apologize that I'm not sure I understood what you meant (English is not my first language).

But if I understood you, the only reason why I am choosing to do a Masters is because I can only get funds from the government for a master's and not for a second BS. Otherwise my god... I would go for the BS yesterday! My only option to get into Electronics industry is to do this Masters. And that's why I am a bit worried. I don't think it will be impossible but challenging. However I learn everything quite quickly and I am a big nerd so I hope things will go well! :p