Digital Pager to Mechanical Bell

mzucker

Joined Jun 10, 2015
I am a firefighter. We are dispatched via a digital pager, which activates when A remote communication center dispatches us. In our firehouse we also have a mechanical bell. This bell has not been used for approximately 20 to 30 years, however we would like to hook it up to the pager so that it makes a sound when the pager goes off. Does anybody know how I can accomplish this?

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
I would use the power output that normally went to drive the buzzer motor to activate a relay that in turn triggers the bell solenoid. That is assuming that the bell ringer is electrically driven of course.

mzucker

Joined Jun 10, 2015
I would use the power output that normally went to drive the buzzer motor to activate a relay that in turn triggers the bell solenoid. That is assuming that the bell ringer is electrically driven of course.
I am an amature to all of this, could you wake me through this? What I hardware I need, how to accomplish this?

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
A pager dedicated to this function, that is, not on someone's belt but sitting on a bench or in a box, can be opened up and connected to such that the electrical signal that drives its beeper or buzzer or vibrator is used to activate a driver circuit that energizes the bell. To do this, you need to know what signal is available from the pager, and what the power source is for the bell. For example, if the pager has a 3 V vibrator motor and the bell is powered by 110 VAC, then an optoisolator triac circuit might be all that is needed. It will take a lot more back-and-forth to work out the details, but this should be doable.

ak

mzucker

Joined Jun 10, 2015