Diagnosing/repairing a Laptop motherboard?

killsec

Joined Apr 13, 2020
Hey guys! First time posting here! I have an Alienware 17 R3 laptop that I picked up broken to see if it was repairable (I like learning new skills). All signs point to a short on the motherboard, I plugged in the charger and the blue LED on the charger cable goes out immediately if I attempt to plug it in and I got some magic smoke from the charger port. I have a new port on the way, but I disconnected the port from the motherboard (It's socketed) and plugged in the charger and no shorts occurred and the LED stayed on.

So moving on doing some preliminary research I found that capacitors are the most likely to cause this issue so I started to dig around the circuit near the battery and charger connection. Now, I'm still learning about component troubleshooting, I'm very beginner at this point, but I found an 0603 ceramic cap that has continuity through it where the 3 others near it do not. I have been told some contradictory information from various experts and wanted to get general consensus on this. I know the only real way to test components is to remove them from the circuit and test individually, but I figured I'd start looking for the oddball before removing. This particular cap behaves differently from the rest when probed. Am I right in assuming there is a potential issue here? I have an air reworking station and all the know-how to remove and reinstall the components even of this size, I just need help with the identification of what needs swapped. Anyone want to help take a crack at this?

Attachments

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
When you measure components in circuit then the other things connected may distort the readings.