Convert old Christmas lights to LED

Ivan Iceheart

Joined Dec 17, 2023
Hello all,
I’m a complete newbie here but hope to get some constructive advice.
I have a set of aging Christmas lights with fancy shades that I would like to resurrect.
They are a set of 12V incandescent bulbs (x20) wired in series straight to the 240V mains supply, as was very common before LEDs took over.
The question is how easily, with a bit of cutting and soldering, etc. could I convert the set to e.g. 20x 12V LEDs? I’m looking at some 10mm diameter 12V LEDs.
OR
Would I be best using a 12V DC transformer and probably new wiring to put the 20 LEDs in parallel?
Thanks in advance for any advice.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
I would try to find a string of 20 lights that operate from your line voltage and just fit the shades to them. I do find such strings for 120V.

Ivan Iceheart

Joined Dec 17, 2023
Yeah, that was my first thought, but after a couple of purchases, nothing is quite doing the trick and I was hoping to end up with something a bit more reliable with extended life.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
You would need to put a bridge rectifier in the mains supply, because the leds will only work on one half cycle, i presume they have a series resistor.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015