controling Arduino output voltage using a power supply

Kadav

Joined May 11, 2018
Hello i am new to programing and especially Arduino i am looking for some help

I am currently working on a project where i need to drive an outuput voltage of 12v to a heater, but i want to use a power supply .. that i can manually change the values of the output

I also have in my mind an idea of using a rotary encoder or a potentiometer to change the output voltage in order to to change the heating but most importantly want to use a power supply to see how it works.

Do you have an idea of which power supply i can use?

And please can you tell me if my point of using a rotary encoder or potentiometer is a good one ?

Thanks..

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
And please can you tell me if my point of using a rotary encoder or potentiometer is a good one ?
The devil is in the details. It depends on how your're going to use them.

You'll probably achieve better results using PWM to drive the heater. Arduino has outputs that support PWM and you can use a pot to control pulse width.

Arduino is setup for novices. There's a library for just about everything, but you'll learn more if you roll your own. I've only been using Arduino for about a year and that's my preference. But I have decades of experience designing circuits and programming.

Kadav

Joined May 11, 2018
Yeaah

Can you please tell me which power supply ,,normaly could be used to do that . i am having trouble finding the power supply on internet

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Yeah but how do i regulate the voltage , if i want to change the heat for example
You connect the heater to the Arduino with a n channel logic level MOSFET, connected to ground and the heater. Then, you drive the pin connected to the MOSFET Gate with PWM. If the supply is 12V and the PWM signal is 50%, the heater gets 6V.