Can someone help me identify this electronic component

jayad

Joined Apr 23, 2022
Hello there
Newbie here. Found this component while cleaning the garage, battery still attached to it. Trying to find out what it is and if I can safely discard.

I first thought maybe a broken keyfob, but keyfobs generally do not have a battery soldered to it.

Thanks to all in advance for helping me.

1650754388765.png
1650754411780.png

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
Definitely unknown. It has a crystal oscillator (lower left in second picture), so that suggests either a CPU under the battery, or some clocked device like a frequency generator. The bottom of the board, near T9, is a circle that resembles a push button pad of some sort, or an output connection to a LED or something. Any button or LED would have been on the external case, which is missing.
You can discard it but if concerned about the battery, you can usually clip it off with wire cutters and dispose of it at some battery recycling facility.

jayad

Joined Apr 23, 2022
Hey Sagor

I had purchased a cheapo led strip light from Walmart just for fun and it did not last long. Is it possible that it is the controller attached to the strip? I think the remote had a removable battery but I am not 100% as I threw it away.
Model #MLB7-1027-BLK

1650848956771.png

Definitely unknown. It has a crystal oscillator (lower left in second picture), so that suggests either a CPU under the battery, or some clocked device like a frequency generator. The bottom of the board, near T9, is a circle that resembles a push button pad of some sort, or an output connection to a LED or something. Any button or LED would have been on the external case, which is missing.
You can discard it but if concerned about the battery, you can usually clip it off with wire cutters and dispose of it at some battery recycling facility.

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
Hey Sagor