Can LED strip (from laptop lcd monitor) be used with arduino?

skopicek

Joined Mar 28, 2020
Could the LED backlight strip ( without inverter board) be used and powered with arduino?
I am new to electronics so forgive me my ignorance. But I understand that inverter does change dc from laptop to ac to power lcd. So I am not sure if the led stripe can be powered by dc from arduino. Also it needs 20 V which in arduino case would need external power source since arduino can provide 5 V max. Or is it even possible to power it straight from arduino using only 5 volts?
The connector to led stripe has 9 pins and is labeled:
8FR9B3FS
8FR3A202V
2.jpg
I want to use it for arduino / artsy project. When I broke my laptop screen, I disassembled it out of curiosity and from the waste I created this (orthodox icon inspired) saint of technology. LED backlight strip is used on halo around saints head and (since I want to make this interactive with arduino) it would be very cool if halo could shine.
1.jpg

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Yes, it’s likely you could use the strip with an Arduino. But you’d have to figure out several things.

1) Why are there nine pins and what does each one do?

2) Are the LEDs wired common cathode (ground) or common anode (power)?

3) Are the LEDs wired in serial? How many LEDs per string’?

4) Assuming the pins light different segments of LEDs, how much current does each pin require?

5) You stated it operated on 20V. It’s unlikely it would run satisfactorily on 5V, but what is the operating voltage range?