Audio Switcher

ToasterTanLines

Joined Dec 26, 2021
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to electronics, other than tinkering with an RPI, and problem solving broken electronics, but I wanted to make something and thought I would try to get a second opinion on if it would work.

On my PC I only have 1 output for the audio equipment I have (line out). I want to be able to switch between my headphones and speakers on my PC. I bought a splitter cable, but found that sound became heavily distorted after prolonged use (I imagine it's because the speakers are powered, and the headphones are not), so now I'm thinking of making some kind of audio switcher. I checked online and they are available, but expensive for me.

If I run two female 3.5mm audio jacks to a switch, and then run that to another female 3.5mm jack, which would connect to my pc, would it work? Also, would I be able to mitigate interference by using an aluminum case for it?

Kind regards

ToasterTanLines

Joined Dec 26, 2021
hi TT,
Welcome to AAC.
I use a two-pole, two-way toggle switch, mounted on a small plastic box, it works fine headphones and powered speaker inputs,
E
I have a toggle switch which I bought today. I'm hoping this will do the job. (I probably should have checked online before buying anything, but really want to make this happen!)

Attachments

ToasterTanLines

Joined Dec 26, 2021
Hi TT,
Thats OK, same type I have used.
If you need a wiring diagram, just ask.
E
Thanks! I will give it a shot using the pinout information that came with the switch and perhaps fail miserably, but I will give it a shot nonetheless. Thanks a lot for boosting my confidence - think that's all I needed :)

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
You said you have a "line out" but not a "headphones out". A switch will not fix the distortion caused by overloading the line output.
A line output is overloaded if you connect headphones to it. A headphones output has an amplifier driving them.