Art Project - Artificial Vein System with Peristaltic Pump

sawyer000000

Joined Nov 12, 2023
Hi there! First time posting :)

I am an artist and this may seem like a totally entry level series of questions but I am a total newbie at all things electrical apart from small projects in school, and I am looking to embark on a kind of involved (for me) project that incorporates some DIY electrical and water and would love some advice. Basically, I am attempting to create an artificial vein system of tubing with liquid inside and believe that I will need a pump that is as small and inexpensive as possible and that does not need to be submerged in water. My questions and current found materials are the below:

1: Will it work as a closed system, e.g. just the tubing filled with liquid going in and out of the pump, no tank or liquid reservoir.
2: I know nothing about voltage, could this pump be connected to neg/pos wiring, then to a USB wire (I stripped an old charger, there were 2 cords inside, could attach to pos/neg?) and then to a portable charger, this one I have, it says it is '5VDC' does that mean it can only power a 5V pump? Should I get this one instead? Flow rate is not a problem, as long as its moving at all.
3: Should I be worried about safety regarding leakage/short circuiting with these electrics?

Any feedback and suggestions are welcomed!

xx

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
What You need is not cheap, and runs on ~120VAC.

Peristaltic-Pumps are commonly used in
large Commercial-Pool Chemical-Metering-Systems
where they often pump Liquid-Chlorine and Muriatic-Acid to
maintain Pool-Sanitation and general Water cleanliness.

All have either an Electronic-Timer, or a Mechanical-Timer, built-in,
that can be easily set to simulate a Heartbeat-pulse.

But like I said, they start out somewhere around ~$300.oo each,
and that was back in the mid ~90's.

sawyer000000

Joined Nov 12, 2023
What You need is not cheap, and runs on ~120VAC.