Arduino to PIC

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Hi y’all!
I’m thinking about moving on to using a PIC, from my previous efforts which all used an Arduino.
I am a professional programmer, so coding does not stress me. I believe that anything can be done in code.
But it’s the hardware form which I am uncomfortable with. The Arduino had all that done for me. I could make peripherals for the Arduino, but starting with just a chip – errrrrrr, where do I go from there? Read the datasheet is the first step! I got that.

The project I am in the process of designing a system with a Microprocessor, controlling an LCD screen, keeping track of time (in days), reading from an SD card, monitoring an input button and maybe outputting to a servo.

The idea is a goal reminder. The goal(s) will scroll on the LCD continuously. Every once in a while, as in a couple of times during business hours It will output something (move the servo?), to motivate someone to look at the device. The times should be randomized. As in, some days it won’t happen at all, some days it will happen only once, etc…

Any advice, recommendations or comments? I am sharing this to get some advice on moving from an Arduino platform to a PIC. Is a simple 3-4 step checklist possible?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I usually mock a first system up in Strip board, a Olinex Board or use a Picmicro Picdem2 plus Demo board, each of these except the strip board, the Pic can be left in place and programmed and tested in smooth operation.
It all depends if you want to progress in the future over to PIC for ongoing projects, how sophisticated you want to get as far as a development system.
When I started with Pic's after not programming since the 8085, I used the Nigel Goodwin tutorial and boards to get familiar with them, I have since moved up from the 16F to the 18F series .
Max.

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
I am a professional programmer, so coding does not stress me. I believe that anything can be done in code.