Arduino LCD characters missing *first time

Is it an LCD error or a USER error? lol

• Total voters

Sir_Drizzt

Joined Nov 19, 2016
Hello everyone, first off thank you for taking the time to read my post. Recently I received an Arduino UNO R3 and I am now attempting to connect a 16pin 16x2 LCD display to it. I have no prior experience besides the small projects that came with my kit just an extreme interest as a Computer Science major.

What does not work:

-Characters will not display not an iota of color even (have seen in videos random symbols display when first powered on even with no code) this did not happen even with code uploaded.

What does work:

-Backlight comes on and can be adjusted.

What I have tried:

2 main methods, one with a 10k potentiometer and one using varying resistors to adjust contrast as well as backlight.

-I have followed step by step 4 different diagrams multiple times each to ensure correct wire placement.
-Double checked code
-Used different Data pins on my Arduino
-Pot started smoking after about 1min of adjusting backlight, researched this and seems that the lcd drawing to drawing to much power.

What I need help with:

I would like to know what your suggestions would be as to what to troubleshoot next. Also would love any suggestions as to what projects to do next or any great learning material you would recommend to a newbie. Attached are pictures of the two main methods Ive attempted. Thanks again!

Attachments

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
Try connecting LEDs via 220R to 1k resistors to the control and data lines, and then slow the code right down. Observe the LEDs and confirm whether everything appears to operate as you expect.

I wouldn't bother with the back-light at this stage but contrast adjustment is essential.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008