AC to DC Power Circuit Board Component identification?

Thread Starter

winson2020

Joined Jan 19, 2020
2
The original design input is 120V /60Hz
In my region, I only have step down transformer from 220V 50hz to 120V 50Hz.
I measure the DC output is 20.4Vdc
I can’t find any information about the TenPao-X TP130-3 transform information, so that I am not sure 20.4Vdc is sufficient or not

IMG_20200119_174940.jpg

Any other way I can find out the original design DC output voltage?
On the other hand, is the power circuit board support 220V 50hz input?
 

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
4,889
I am guessing that the power supply shown is one that is intended to power a computer, that may or not be correct. Most switching power supplies are regulated and so 20.4 volts is undoubtedly the intended output voltage. If the input voltage on that power supply is not given, then it might not work with a 220 volt input, and the fuse may fail if you try it on 220 and it is only made for 120 volts. What is the TenPao-X TP130-3 ? I am not at all familiar with that company brand.
 

Thread Starter

winson2020

Joined Jan 19, 2020
2
this is my vizio soundbar power supply
my soundbar mentioned input voltage is 120v 60Hz

As a switching power supply, 50/60Hz will affect the DC voltage output or not?

The first level of fuse I saw is T3.15A250A right hand side. So the fuse should be find right?

擷取2.PNG

This should be the Ten Pao switch power supply but I can't find any information about the switch power supply input / output voltage.
擷取3.PNG
 

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
2,439
I don't understand the significance of your statement "I only have step down transformer from 220V 50hz to 120V 50Hz. " Do you mean that now you are NOT in your own region so you are feeding the power supply from the transformer ? If so have you checked that the transformer output is supplying the power supply with about 120 volts. (It should not matter if it is 50 or 60 Hz)

Les.
 

Hymie

Joined Mar 30, 2018
741
Although the switch mode power supply may have an input rating of 120V, I suspect the design will handle 100-240V based on the 400V rating of the large electrolytic reservoir capacitor.
Of course, if other components are not rated for a 240V input, then applying 240V will likely destroy the PSU.
 

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
4,889
"Standby" on a current appliance is the equivalent of "off" , because there is nothing to warm up a y more. And really, the nature of a switching mode power supply is that it is regulated. If you are feeding 120 volts into the supply and not getting an output then the supply has a problem. If you have opened the case and have access to both ends of the cables then you can use an ohm meter to verify the continuity if both cables, because conductor failure is a real possibility in these kinds of cords.
One other point is that of all of the failed switch mode power supplies that I have seen, I never saw a burned component,
 
Top